Introduction to the ladies

Still trying to get the hang of doing this on a more regular basis, but while it’s raining outside and I’m pondering the reasons why our onion patch looks like it’s been well and truly trampled (foxes? a nearby dog? squirrels? rampant children?) I thought I’d bring the ladies into the spotlight here.

Image

Sally and Henny-Penny, our lovely Light Sussex. We’ve now had them about 3 months and they’ve settled right in. I named them after Beatrix Potter’s hen in the Tale of Mrs Tiggywinkle;

‘So Lucie asked a speckled hen–

“Sally Henny-penny, have you
found three pocket-handkins?”

But the speckled hen ran into a
barn, clucking–

“I go barefoot, barefoot, barefoot!” ‘

Now the ladies aren’t strictly speckled hens as such but I do love a bit of Beatrix Potter, and they have such personalities that the names suit them down to the (very muddy) ground. They’ve become a bit like local celebrities as the houses that overlook our garden have noticed there’s now life there – I’ve had at least two people ask about them and tell me they have provided some amusement to watch.

We’ve been having eggs for about a month and a half now and it’s great but I think Sally is still settling into her groove; we get about 4/5 days a week of regular eggs, then a double yolker, then a couple of soft shells, then she’s back to normal again. Doesn’t seem to bother her, and Henny-Penny is laying fine so I guess she’s just an odd one, or still figuring it out a bit. 

We’ve done so well out of them this week, we usually have a bit scrambled egg breakfast on Saturday morning but we’ve been away so I think a lovely quiche is on the cards for this week to use them up while they’re nice and fresh…if it turns out to be a stunner then I’ll post it and the recipe!

Leave a Reply

